Super eating for Super Bowl

How I spend my free time

It has been a long time since my last post.  Things were a bit too busy for me during the holidays.  I needed a few weeks of recovery before my writing could resume. Not to mention I have been spending my free time and thoughts curing my own sausage.  Now that the dog days of winter have set in, I am ready to get back into the swing of things.  The time to eat and write is now and Super Bowl Sunday has revived my spirit.

People keep telling me that Super Sunday is only for cheap pizza and watery American macro brews.  Let me tell you right now that is not how my crew of friends attack the big day.  For our Super Bowl Sunday party we have many a none football fan show up just for the tasty food that will be offered.  Being good Americans nonetheless we try not to stray too far from typical football fare. We just make it better.

Personally, sausages speak to me when I feel the call of the big game.  It may be freezing outside, but my grill will be full of chorizo Bilbao and greens onions.  Once cooked I will be placing these tasty treats in a baguette with homemade jalapeno basil mustard.  While that grill is flaming away why not make room for some Piri Piri hot wings.  Just follow the simple recipe for piri piri chicken in the Spanish Table Cookbook, by our own Steve Winston.  Grocery stores will have plenty of raw chicken wings and drumettes waiting in their meat section for you.

Perhaps grilled meats are not your cup of tea.  Here is a simple idea almost anyone can enjoy.  Take your favorite deviled egg recipe and tweak it just a bit. What?  You do not have a favorite deviled egg recipe.  For some reason, time has passed by and you forgot how delicious these tiny egg treats can be.  The plan is easy, find a recipe that sounds good to you.  Sub your typical bland super market paprika for some smokey Spanish pimenton.  From the way I understand it, it is the paprika that makes the egg deviled.  Next step, once you have assembled your deviled eggs, top them with a small dollop of black caviar.  When you stop by the Spanish table looking for smokey paprika, we have some nice Lumpfish black caviar that will dollop nicely on top of your eggs.  Just keep in mind that caviar is salty and you will have to adjust your egg recipe accordingly.

The Super Bowl should never be just about the game.  There is at least a 50% chance the action on the field will be a real disappointment.  Make the game an excuse to get together with some friends and family for some nice food and conversation.  We still have a long time until summer arrives and winter releases us from its hold, so let this day break up the season.  Personally, the game will be fun for me to watch. Of course, until the day comes when the Detroit Lions take the field for this final championship game all I really care about is eating well and spending time with family and friends.

Cheers, Rob@TST

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

